Caffeine-free writing – a lifestyle oxymoron

Twelve-days in and at least the headaches are gone. But the hour I used to grab after everyone had gone to bed has been put on hiatus, too. Our kids get up between 5-6 am. (Yup, the time most decent single folk, or couples without children, are usually going to bed.) My wife and I are able to wrangle them into bed between 7-8:30 pm. Typically, we’re able to enjoy at least an hour before we retire. Not so much now that I’m dabbling in non-caffeinated potables. Bright side: I’ve allowed myself a return to the shelves of the – as Will Ferrell on SNL’s Celebrity Jeopardy would say – “Potent Potables.”

Finished John Connolly’s Every Dead Thing tonight. So I thought I would post the list of books I’ve read this year. I’ve never kept a list before. It’s been a cool exercise.

  1. Golden Compass – Pullman
  2. The Zero – Walter
  3. Four Agreements
  4. Next – Crichton
  5. Children of Men – James
  6. The Blade Itself – Sakey
  7. Shut Up, Stop Whining, and Get a Life
  8. The Road – McCarthy
  9. Hannibal Rising – Harris
  10. 101 Salary Tips – ? (Worked great. I received a huge raise without even asking.)
  11. 1984 – Orwell
  12. The Camel Club – Baldacci
  13. Echo Park – Connelly
  14. Fantasyland – Walker
  15. Alexandria Link – Berry
  16. Running Blind – Child
  17. Tripwire – Child
  18. The Reluctant Fundamentalist – Hamid
  19. The Rogue Male – Houseman
  20. Every Dead Thing – Connolly

I have a couple marketing books I need to skim. I’ll let you know how that goes.

107 days remaining (2545:36:08)

Leave a Reply

