Off track, Alfie Kohn, and a 2100 word deficit

Fell off track this weekend. It’s going to happen from time to time. Yard work, in-laws, and, tonight, Alfie Kohn. He’s written a book called Unconditional Parenting. I’ve not read it, my wife has, and she and our two children are in a class exploring his ideas. Janet checked out a DVD of a lecture he gave at Stanford University. It was my introduction to Mr. Kohn. For the most part, I agree with his postulations. His ideas are exasperating. Here’s why, he’s really good at telling what not to do. That’s it. Unlike if someone were to tell you all the things you shouldn’t eat, you could pretty much figure out other things to eat. Unfortunately, my parental skills are not as widely developed as my palate and diet, so when you tell me something is off the menu (specifically, removing consequences – we don’t do time outs or spanking, that’s not our bag – more along the lines of “well, when you stomped on it, it broke.” Ergo, the consequence of the stomp is the ex-ness of the item stomped. I’m not buying another one. Anyway…) I need to know what to replace it with.

So the book took a necessary back seat to fine parenting. Janet and I had a great chat. Now, rather than work, I wrote a post. The consequence is another 729 words compounded across the next 76 days. Three days in a row, and I’ve got some catching up to do.

77 days remaining. (1825 :10:31)

Leave a Reply

