Fool’s Onion, Mt Baker Winery, and 912 words

What an exceptional evening. Dinner was great. My apologies to the owners and staff at the Fool’s Onion [Edit: man I have trouble with the name of that restaurant. It’s not Foolish Onion. It’s Fool’s Onion. Really.  ] in Fairhaven, I really thought the name of the restaurant was the Bloomin’ Onion. Sadly, I’m not the only one who is mistaken. Anniversary dinner was excellent. I’ve never had a less than exceptional dish at the Foolish Onion. The Mt. Baker Mad Angie was a delicious little white with a pleasant green apple crispness, yet surprisingly mellow finish. I’m not sure how they pull that off. Janet and I had a wonderful meal and got reacquainted. Being parents of two glorious children under the age of 4 requires a divide and conquer style of parenting – at least for us. So we really don’t see much of each other except in passing.

I told her how the story had become…frustrating isn’t the right way to put it, but along those lines. More difficult maybe. She suggested writing something so outrageous, the characters would have to rebel. Very Six Characters in Search of an Author. It was a neat twist. Here’s the result: Willie is pissed at the Sheriff Deacon Chisley. I’d had this idea Willie would pull an outrageous act and try to pin it on Chisley. Trouble was, it was a thin set up. Taking Janet’s advice, it occurred to me that if the set up is as thin as it is, what would be the consequence if it unraveled? 912 words in 1 1/2 hours was the consequence, thank you very much. Oh, and I’m not sure Willie survived.

63 days remaining (1499:22:39)

Leave a Reply

