Gerard Beirne knows what I’m talking about

It’s like there is a little voice in my head and he has a blog. His name is Gerard Beirne, and there is a whole host of reasons to like him. He wrote a book, Sightings of Bono, about my own personal superhero, Paul David Hewson – yes, that Paul Hewson, born May 10, 1960, who is better known as Bono. I’m a bit of a Bono fan (ask my college roommates. They thought I was freakishly obsessed; I thought it more of a guy love). His book has been optioned to be a movie WITH BONO. He probably has even met Bono. Bono, if you happen to catch this post, I’d appreciate a blurb for the book. A blurb in tandem with Gerard would be wicked excellent.

What’s more, Mr. Beirne has a MFA from Eastern Washington University, in Cheney (no relation to the V.P. Or is there?) Washington, the recent host (not this year) of the Seattle Seahawks (I am the 12th Man) training camp and my brother-in-law’s alma mater. I mean, c’mon, how much cooler could this guy be? But then he drops the sweet piece of writing insight in a recent post at Dear Dead Beat,

“When it becomes hard to move characters towards the end point it usually means that the plot has not emerged fully – the sequence of events driving the narrative from start to finish has faltered somewhere – i.e. the events are not entirely present, or the wrong events have presented themselves. “

Obviously – as you can tell from my rambling posts – more together, cohesive, and direct than I, Gerard puts what I was experiencing with my characters in a nutshell. He follows up with:

“Remember good old Chandler – when the plot flags, bring out a man with a gun. “

His expert advice dovetailed nicely with Janet’s “write something so outrageous, the characters would have to rebel.”

It’s all coming together.

62 days remaining (1477:22:32)

Leave a Reply

