Espouse, expectorate, expound…you know what I mean

O.K.

Quick lesson in humility and reasons not to speed post: Wrong word choice.

Now a more polished blog writer could or would simply edit the post to correct the misused word. Since I’m not a polished blogger (what’s more I believe the format is more approachable because it shows its warts and all), I’ll just make this an example of what not to do when your children are in the tub and your wife would really appreciate your help putting them to bed before her head explodes. DO NOT post off-handed commentary about a bit of political buffoonery unless you are using words you are certain of their definition.

Expound. Couldn’t think of the word. I had a brief internal debate, “it starts with an ‘e.’ Expectorate? Espouse? Yes, I’m on my way. Espouse. Good enough.” Then I hit ‘Publish.’

I was in my son’s room, tucking him in and I straightened up, “espouse?! ”

Geez.

4 Responses to “Espouse, expectorate, expound…you know what I mean”

  1. Trudi Topham Says:

    I can only assure you it gets worse if you write for a living 😉

  2. peterosborne Says:

    Hi Trudi,

    It’s a problem I look forward to facing.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Pete

  3. Strauss Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Strauss.

  4. peterosborne Says:

    Hello Strauss,

    Thanks for stopping by…

    In the post previous to this one, I’d misspoken – or perhaps, mistyped would be a better descriptor – and I felt like a nitwit when it dawned on me later.

    Till next time,

    Pete

Leave a Reply

